Social Studies Central    


History is a set of agreed upon lies. -Napoleon

Let no one be discouraged by the belief there is nothing one person can do against the enormous array of the world's ills, misery, ignorance, and violence. Few will have the greatness to bend history, but each of us can work to change a small portion of events. And in the total of all those acts will be written the history of a generation. - Robert Kennedy

Those who never learn history are condemned to repeat it.
 - Unknown

Social Studies education is wide-ranging subject area with ever-changing trends.  With the current advent of standardized testing in most subjects, social studies has been essentially thrown under the bus in terms of instructional time at the elementary school level.  With about 1/5 of current U.S. states implementing standardized social studies testing, countless educators and experts are in constant debate about the validity of this testing and its overall impact on social studies education.  My belief is that socials studies needs to remain an open-ended subject, free of standardized testing, with more open-ended and critical-thinking based assessments.  Critical-thinking and problem-solving skills need to be fostered in social studies classrooms, in addition to the instruction of concepts and content.  Only time will tell how the scope and sequence of social studies education will pan out in the near future.  This site contains links and videos containing differing philosophies, resources, links, and videos for teacher use on the overall topic of social studies, which reflects my philosophy of social studies education.

Resource Sites:
Howard Zinn -  http://www.howardzinn.org/zinn/

Social Studies Links - http://www.bestedsites.com/socialstudieslinks.html

Social Studies for Kids - http://www.socialstudiesforkids.com/

Sheppard Software - http://sheppardsoftware.com/

National Council for the Social Studies - http://www.socialstudies.org/

History Channel - http://www.history.com/

Brain Pop - http://www.brainpop.com/socialstudies/

PBS Teachers - http://www.pbs.org/teachers/

The Smithsonian - http://www.si.edu/Encyclopedia/Search/History%20and%20Culture

National Endowment for the Social Studies - http://www.neh.gov/

Social Studies Teachers Net - http://social-studies.teachers.net/

Education World Social Studies - http://www.educationworld.com/a_lesson/archives/soc_sci.shtml

Khan Academy - http://www.khanacademy.org/